Skip to main content

Quality Improvement

These pages are designed to support you in achieving quality learning in your settings and schools:

  • The most powerful influence on the outcomes and happiness of children is positive relationships and sustained interactions in an environment where learning happens

  • Practitioners recognise the importance of high-quality play, learning and/or teaching that is inclusive, child-centred, informed and evidence-based

  • Environments are welcoming and inclusive, and reflect the children’s changing interests and their wider community

  • Practitioners have the expertise to make informed and reflective professional decisions about play, learning and/or teaching in line with a broad, rich EYFS curriculum/play environment

  • Children’s interests are actively sought and lead curriculum and/or play environment design

  • Continuous learning takes place in partnership with families and the community.

The early years and childcare Quality Improvement team works with settings and schools across Cambridgeshire to provide support, advice and challenge. A team of experienced advisers are on hand with a wide range of expertise to ensure settings and schools offer the best quality early years and childcare provision.

Contact

Email: EY.Qualityimprovement@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Senior Adviser for Quality Improvement: Jennifer Barker, jennifer.barker@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Quality Improvement Co-ordinator: Lucy Frain, Lucy.Frain@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Early Years Adviser: Ali Mitchell, Ali.Mitchell@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Quality Improvement Co-ordinator: Emma Smith, Emma.Smith@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Early Years Adviser: Jemma Skinner, Jemma.Skinner@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Early Years Adviser: Kristen Mitchell, Kristen.Mitchell@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Early Years Adviser: Rachel Purdie, Rachel.Purdie@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Early Years Advisor: Siena Carter, Siena.carter@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Schools - Early Years Adviser: Alison Brown, Alison.Brown@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Schools - Early Years Adviser: Lucy Lawson, Lucy.Lawson@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Schools - Early Years Adviser: Sophie Hixson, Sophie.Hixson@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Wrap-Around Providers - Early Years & Childcare Adviser: Michael Holt, Michael.Holt@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Forest School Adviser: Emma Wright, EmmaD.Wright@cambridgeshire.gov.uk